Melissa A

Melissa Arneson

Outpatient Coder from Northern Wisconsin | Colleague since 2014

Q: Where do you live and when did you start?
A: I live in Northern WI and I started with AQuity, April 2014.

Q: What account/specialty do you support?
A: I code outpatient accounts – ER, ANC and ONC dx.

Q: What was your onboarding experience like?
A: I was hired on as an apprentice with the Coding Apprentice Program M*Modal had in 2014 and within months I was working as a full-time coder. The Coder Apprentice Program was extremely helpful as I was a newly credentialed coder with no experience. The process was pretty smooth for me – phone interviews, clear communication via email. They sent me a computer and I’ve been happily working ever since.

Q: What do you like best about working for AQuity?
A: I love, love, love the team and my manager that I work with on a daily basis. They make coming to work a joy. Plus, I get the benefit of working from home, a dream come true for this girl and it is a perfect fit. For me, there is nothing better than a perfect cup of coffee and lots of charts to code. I love my office, it’s my happy space. I love the support and encouragement from my manager, I love the fact I am being helpful and part of a great team providing solutions.

Q: What do you like best about Coding for AQuity?
A: The client I have been working with for the last several years is small but I love them. The coding team I assist is very friendly, happy to share work and they always appreciate my hard work. I feel like I am part of the on site team, even though I am many miles away. I love the variety of accounts I code for this client.

Q: What would you say to another candidate looking at AQuity?
A: Apply! Join the team.

Q: Where did you grow up/what did you like/dislike about it?
A: I grew up on a dairy farm with my mom and Grandpa. I learned the value of hard work early in life. I helped my Mom and Grandpa take care of the farm for many years, we had about 25 milking cows. Later as my Grandpa got older, I helped my mom take care for him. Now fast forward, I am moved back into my childhood home, on the farm, helping care for my mom. I am lucky to have a supportive loving partner by my side. The three of us are One happy little family – Me, my partner Paul and my Mom. A house filled with love.

Q: How do you define success?
A: I define success as being happy in what you do every day. Looking forward to going to work, trying to do good and be helpful. Another way to define success is setting a goal and achieving it. In the work setting, meeting production and quality standards. But mostly, being happily helpful is my definition of success.

Q: What’s your Motto/Mantra?
A: Find the good, be the good and do good.

Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?
A: I enjoy baking with my Mom, we make really yummy desserts. I love going to the casino with my Mom, our mother daughter bonding time is priceless. My partner and I always enjoy slow drives around the country roads. I am a big animal lover, and I love to watch the seasons change. I love to find the beauty in everything all around. I also enjoy movies, books, and journaling.